Do I JailBreak?

entreri22

Jan 27, 2010
Visit site
Hi Guys, Will say upfront, I'm a noob when it comes to iPhones, jsut got my first one about 2 weeks ago.

Do I jailbreak or not? I want to customize my phone's ringers, alerts, and a few other things, lol.

Is there any downside to j/bing? Can I seemlessy go back to the way I have it now by doing a restore in itunes prejailbreak?
What would be the best way for me to j/b if i choose to go that route?

Read in a previous post that I would have to reinstall the j/b app everytime i reboot the device, is that true? Is there any way around that?

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

en0c

Dec 29, 2009
Visit site
Tethered jailbreak or no jailbreak. That simple. Have you searched to find answers to your other questions, before starting this thread?

entreri22

Jan 27, 2010
Visit site
Tethered jailbreak or no jailbreak. That simple. Have you searched to find answers to your other questions, before starting this thread?

I have done some searching, but most answers i find are from older phones, and was hoping to get more up to date answers here.

Whats the difference between tethered, and not tethered? Do i have a choice between the two? Like I said, I am a noob, just switched from a bb.

phantomgrave

Jan 22, 2010
Visit site
I have done some searching, but most answers i find are from older phones, and was hoping to get more up to date answers here.

Whats the difference between tethered, and not tethered? Do i have a choice between the two? Like I said, I am a noob, just switched from a bb.

A tethered jailbreak means every time the phone is rebooted you have to plug it into a PC and re-jailbreak it. This only applies to the newer iPhone 3GS and iPod Touch 3G.

I would definitely jailbreak using blackra1n as that seems to be the easiest way to do it. There are tons of threads here that will step you through it.

I jailbroke my iPhone 3G the first day I got it and I wouldn't have it any other way. ;)

LVCIFER