How simple to restore back to 'normal' with a backup

matthirst

Jan 19, 2010
Visit site
So, I have one of the latest 3GS's and from what I've read, I'll only be able to do a tethered jailbreak. I'm not sure how I feel about that so want to give it a go and try it out - see if it's worth it. But, the likelyhood is I'll want to revert back to 'normal' after a few days/week/whatever. Say when going on holiday for a few weeks when I can't risk running out of battery and having no phone till getting back home! Would all I need to do be a backup in itunes and restore from there? Or is it not that straight forward?

Essentially, is simple enough to swap between jailbroken and not, as long as you have a backup file to load back up once restored to factory settings? Keeping any notes, contacts, messages, music etc?

I've never done it before so any comments from anyone who regularly swaps between would be welcome. Or if you think it would be too much hassle/risk, I'd be happy to hear that too to not bother risking it!

Hack-My-i

Aug 24, 2009
Visit site
...and when u JB, make sure u create an acct with Rock and log in everytime u DL a JB app because Rock saves all your JB apps

matthirst

Jan 19, 2010
Visit site
That makes me think, say I JB then install a couple of JB apps. How do I create a restorable-in-itunes backup? There will be new notes/messages etc (since JB'ing) so how can you create a backup thats half JB-half 'normal', restore to factory settings (now non JB), then restore the backup (obviously minus the JB apps). Is that possible? Apologies if that didn't make sense!

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site
iTunes will backup everything that's not part of your jb. You don't need to worry about a separate backup.

en0c

Dec 29, 2009
Visit site
If you make a restore after you've jailbreaked, then you will have a restore that contains small parts of the jailbreak. But in most cases it's not visual in the OS/regular use..

matthirst

Jan 19, 2010
Visit site