iPhone does not recognize T-Mobile sim card!

brattygirl72

Dec 13, 2009
Visit site
All,

First let me say thanks for reading my post. I have spent hours scouring though threads and I have not been able to find an answer to my question. I am brand new to the unlock and jailbreak process so please excuse my ignorance. I just received an unlocked (Blackrain) iPhone 3GS 3.1 from an merchant on Ebay. When I put my T-Mobile sim card into the phone I received a voicemail notification and there was no T-Mobile signal (only dashes). I've tried 2 different T-Mobile sim cards and no joy! I am sure that it's a setting issue.
One last question, should I update to 3.1.2 and unlock and jailbreak? Would that help? Any suggestions you might have would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Rachael

LVCIFER

Jun 18, 2009
Visit site
Hello, Rachael.

Well, since you've got nothing to lose, yes, I'd recommend upgrading to 3.1.2

However, before you do that, take a look at your serial #.

Go to Settings>General>About. It's the 10th option down.

Now, IN THE SERIAL #, if digits 4 and 5 of the serial number are greater than "40", you may have a tethered jailbreak. We'll go into that later.

If you need any help, feel free to PM me.

brattygirl72

Dec 13, 2009
Visit site
Hello, Rachael.

Well, since you've got nothing to lose, yes, I'd recommend upgrading to 3.1.2

However, before you do that, take a look at your serial #.

Go to Settings>General>About. It's the 10th option down.

Now, IN THE SERIAL #, if digits 4 and 5 of the serial number are greater than "40", you may have a tethered jailbreak. We'll go into that later.

If you need any help, feel free to PM me.

LVCIFER,

The 4th and 5th digits are 36. I will go ahead and update to 3.1.2. I will shoot you a pm in a few minutes.

Thanks

brattygirl72

Dec 13, 2009
Visit site
LVCIFER,