- 06-27-2009, 02:35 PM #2
I have always just run the Apple update over the jailbreak. You lose all your jailbreak apps of course (IIRC, they are still there but you just can't see them). Of course if you're talking about upgrading to 3.0, I think the "safe" recommendation was to delete all your Cydia apps first (partially because they will just be taking up space that you can't recover until you JB again).
- 06-27-2009, 03:34 PM #3iPhone Intermediate
- 293 Posts
At the very least, upgrading a JB iPhone will result in the loss of disk space. At the worst, you'll have a phone that performs poorly or acts strange.
It's better to restore your iphone to the new firmware, and set it up as a new phone, and then perform a new JB. The only difference to a restore and an update is that an update preserves additional data/settings.
- 06-27-2009, 04:26 PM #4
- 06-27-2009, 08:35 PM #5