Unlocked/jailbroken and prepaid?doable?

Microcosmos

Sep 19, 2005
Visit site
Hey folks, I have an iPhone 2G here that I'm going to give to a good friend of mine. :D Problem is, he can't do AT&T's ridiculous monthly pricing! :mad: The phone he has now is a Virgin mobile prepaid. He doesn't necessarily have to go with that network, in fact he'd be fine with Cingular/AT&T's pay-as-you-go plan, but he does need to set the phone up with a prepaid plan. I have never done this before, and could definitely use your wisdom! I did a search on threads but didn't find one that fits, if you could point me to one I'd be thrilled, or if you have the knowledge just sitting there in your brain I'd be extremely grateful if you shared that. Either way, I have no idea where else to look for the info.

Thank you so much for taking the time!

P.S. When I unlock it for him do you think I should jailbreak it too (or can one not be done without the other in any case)? :confused: Thanks again!

obee1

Aug 26, 2008
Visit site
I don't have the knowledge just sitting in my brain, but have you thought about going to the AT&T store and asking them, or calling their customer support?

Just a thought in case you don't get an answer here.

Microcosmos

Sep 19, 2005
Visit site
I don't have the knowledge just sitting in my brain, but have you thought about going to the AT&T store and asking them, or calling their customer support?

Just a thought in case you don't get an answer here.

Yup! Thought of it?and didn't do it. Because I am under the distinct impression that they will not help me unlock and/or jailbreak their cash cow. I'm pretty certain that AT&T doesn't want THEIR iPhones on anything but the full-priced AT&T plans. (I will probably still ask them as a last resort if I don't get help here, but I'm pretty confident in the abilities of our online iPhone community and hoping I won't have to.)

Microcosmos

Sep 19, 2005
Visit site