How I Updated to 2.2.1 & Jailbroke an already Jailbroken 2.2 - From Backup

JNHohol

Aug 27, 2008
Visit site
I have a jail broken phone using 2.2. If i jailbreak to 2.2.1 will i loose all my apps and everything i've installed sense my first jailbreak.

----------

I asked the same question when I wanted to update to 2.2.1, then jailbreak it again, but I didn't get an answer from anyone, so I just tried it on my own. I had a couple of apps that didn't offer a sync option and I didn't want to lose the data. (Such as: "1Password", "Lose It", and a couple of games.)

I am not an expert, but here is what I did. I am running Windows XP, iTunes 8.0.2.20, and used QuickPwn 2.2.5-2. (I updated in iTunes, did a restore from a backup, and then did the jailbreak with only a few apps on my iPhone - See Below.)

And to quote TiPb's Disclaimer on jailbreaking:
"Neither TiPb nor I take any responsibility for any problems/issues/bricking/etc. that may occur while using this software to modify your iPhone. Please be aware of what you are doing."

**Also, Before you update to 2.2.1 be sure you understand that if you are or ever want to unlock your iPhone, the Dev Team says that YellowsnOw 0.9.7 won't work with the baseband update in 2.2.1 and not to update through iTunes because you need a custom .ipsw that keeps the older baseband. QuickPwn can't do this.**

------------

As far as the question goes, most people will tell you that you won't lose the apps but you will lose the app data. I think on a mac there is way to keep all the data using the PwnageTool, but I am on pc and I had to use QuickPwn which you can't re-jailbreak with.

Most recommend that if you want to update to 2.2.1 and you don't ever want to unlock your iPhone but just want to jailbreak by using QuickPwn, you install the new update from iTunes and do a restore as new phone. This eliminates the jailbreak and wipes the iPhone of all data, call logs, text history, music, etc.