Phantom iPod App Store Updates

rvalvo

Sep 25, 2013
Visit site
I'm brand new to iMore and just discovered it the other day when I upgraded my iPad Mini to iOS 7. The problem is with my iPod Touch, which is a generation too old for iOS 7 but is (stuck?) at 6.1.3. It started at the same time that 7 was released. I found the identical problem in this forum dated Jan 28 2013. The suggested solution was to upgrade to 6.1.

A badge appears on the app store app, but all apps are reported as up-to-date. Once, the badge said there were two updates, and there was one. I'm wondering if the badge is telling me that iOS 7 is available, but then the app store is determining that my device is not eligible. The badge might disappear for a second or for quite a while. Or not. But it always comes back.

Any suggestions on what to do about this? I can't figure out how to report it to the powers that be.

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
If you had an iOS update, you could go to Settings>General>Software Updates to see if one is indeed available. If there is, go ahead and update, if you want, but if there's not, I'd trying the following solutions:

1. Logout of the iTunes & App Store, reboot the device and then log back in.
2. Delete the app and then reinstall it.

Hopefully, one of the two will fix the problem for you.. If not, let us know. Take care...:)

rvalvo

Sep 25, 2013
Visit site
I've checked many times in Settings, and there is no iOS 7 update for my iPod. It's fourth generation.

Just now, with the badge showing, I shut down the app store app at the bottom of the screen. I assume that's what you meant by logging out of it. Then I fully shut the device down, waited a few seconds for good measure, and then turned it back on. The badge is still there.

I'm going to need a little guidance on deleting and reinstalling the app. It's not just another app. Do I need to go to iTunes on the big computer for that?

acerace113

Oct 30, 2012