Cleaning up my music library - help!

Meticulous2006

Mar 15, 2013
Visit site
I am relatively new to the iPod and iTunes. I am using iPod Touch 32GB, 4th Generation (Model MC544HN/A). I have about 4150 songs in my iTunes library, of which about 1000 songs are in diffrent playlists. The software on my Mac and iPod has been updated to the latest version.

My issue is as follows: Simply stated, I would like to only listen to songs that are NOT in any playlist and then decide if I want to keep that song or to delete it totally, including from my library. I would ideally like to do all this from my iPod only since I dont have the time to sit with my Mac for hours listening to the music just for cleaning it up!
I have time and inclination to listen to music while I am on the move, at the airport, in a car, train station, waiting at doctors office etc and thats when I can listen and decide to keep or delete a song.

I have created a smart playlist, titled, "To Keep or Delete" which has all the numbers (about 3000) which are indeed NOT in any playlist. However, the problem is that I cannot delete the song from this smart playlist. I understand that even if I delete the songs from a normal playlist from an iPod, it only deletes it from the playlist and NOT from the library. However, if I can delete it from the Smart Playlist, then at least those songs will again be songs that are again not in any playlist and I can sync the iPod with my Mac and then simply delete from the library those songs.

A friend suggested to simply listen to the music in the Songs tab, and then to delete the songs from there; this is possible but then in this method I will end up listening to music which I have already categorized in some playlist and then I will also have to remember what song I last heard (yesterday or a week ago depending on my time availaibility) and then continue from there! Rather cumbersome system from a company that makes such user freindly products!

elon9669

Oct 23, 2011