Review: SimCity Deluxe for the iPad, by Electronic Arts

cjvitek

Jul 5, 2008
Visit site
[URL="http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/simcity-deluxe-for-ipad/id405582750?mt=8&at=10l3Vy]SimCity Deluxe for iPad[/URL], Electronic Arts
$6.99, ***1/2

Pros:

? Based on SimCity computer game!
? Fun turn based strategy game to control city
? Nice graphics on large iPad screen

Cons:

? Complex game
? Bug that causes the scenarios to crash

Back in 1989, when I was a freshman in college, a new game was released that no one thought would do well. After all, who wants to be a city manager in a computer game? But SimCity did well, and aside from spawning it?s own sequels, it gave rise to the whole ?simulation? style strategy games such as SimEarth, Civilization, and most recently the Sims. SimCity was ported to the iPad last December ? so how does it stack up?

Well, first of all, this is not the original version. This is more similar to the SimCity 2000 version that was released which was a little more advanced, a little more complicated. I was sort of disappointed to see this ? the original version was elegant in its simplicity, an easy game that you could just start playing. The later versions, while having more advanced gameplay and better graphics, were also more complicated, meaning it was more difficult to just sit down as start playing.

Having said that, the basic idea of the games is the same. You are a city manager, and you job is to build up a city from scratch into a thriving, bustling metropolis. In that process, you have to keep the people happy, keep them employed, keeps costs low, watch crime and fires, make sure natural disasters don?t ruin your city?well, you get the idea. You can control all physical and financial aspects of the city ? what to build, where to build it, how much to charge for taxes, how much to pay policemen, etc.