Review: The Elements by Element Collection Inc.

cjvitek

Jul 5, 2008
Visit site
[URL="http://itunes.apple.com/app/the-elements-a-visual-exploration/id364147847?mt=8&at=10l3Vy]The Element: A Visual Exploration[/URL], by Element Collection, Inc.
$13.99, ****

Pros:

? Stunning graphics
? Lots of great information and images

Cons:

? Leaves me wanting ?more?
? 3D visualization is either difficult or expensive

As a biology professor, I am always on the lookout for cool science related apps. When The Elements came out (and was demoed by Steve) I thought it looked interesting, but wasn?t really sure if it was worth the money. After I purchased it and looked through it, I have to say ? if you are a science person, then you will probably love The Elements. If not, you will probably think it is a waste of time.

The Elements is all about presentation. Sure, there are other periodic table of the elements, but none go as far to be as visually stunning as The Elements. When you start the app, you are presented with a periodic table (and small pictures). You can tap on an element and are brought to a detailed screen with information about the element ? atomic radius, electron shells, crystal structure, spectrograph, etc). One nice feature is that you can connect to Wolfram Alpha directly to get live information about the element itself. Dominating the screen is a huge, rotating image of the element.

On the second page is a lengthy description of the element, written in ?every day? English (not too much scientific jargon here). It includes a little about the history, use by the general public, and about people who played an important role in its discovery, use, or application. In addition, there are usually three to six additional images of the elements ? different states, different uses, different forms, etc.