Welcome to the iMore Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  
    Forum App Reviewer

540 Posts
    Global Posts
    542 Global Posts

Default Head to Head Review: GPA+

For those of you that don't know, the weekend (or close) Head to Head Review is a review by the two Forum App Reviewers - Chris (cjvitek) and myself. In which we go head-to-head on one app, hopefully this will give you a better idea on what to expect from the application.

Teacher's Review (cjvitek):

Okay, it has been 4 years since I was a graduate student, and 15 years since I was an undergrad, so I am not approaching this review from the perspective of a current student. Just an FYI.

GPA+ is a GPA calculation tool - designed to calculate the effect your current classes will have on your overall GPA, as well as how well you need to get in order to maintain/reach a certain GPA.

The program has a nice interface, but I would like to have seem a guided tutorial to start - especially since there are some things you []may[/i] need to set up initially. When you start, you need to put in your current GPA and the number of credits that you have already taken. This is done so that the effect of your current classes can be calculated.

You can then start to add classes for your current class load. The interface is very smooth and intuitive - "+" to add a class, at which point you type the name, number of credits, grading type (grade or scores), etc. It is nice to see that you can have 1/2 credits for courses (2.5 credits, 3.5, etc) but you can't have just 1/2 credit, the lowest value is 1.