Procamera vs. Procam

steveh552

Trusted Member
Nov 23, 2012
Visit site
So I have bought both apps and have been playing with them on my 7 plus in preparation for my upcoming trip to Las Vegas. I plan on packing light, not taking my DSLR or anything and just using my iPhone this trip.

I am confused about a couple things with these two apps and let me preface by saying I have a degree in digital photography and know about file formats and all of that.

When I use Procamera if I shoot RAW its only a 640-852 pixel image but if I shoot TIFF it is full resolution but only at 13mb roughly.

When using Procam it wont shoot RAW even when it is selected and TIFF files are full resolution and 48mb each.

Anyone know how these two apps are processing these images and why there is such a difference between the two? I have always just used the stock iPhone camera app but really like the manual control and also the option of having RAW images which is why I bought these two apps.

blaine07

Case & Accessory Champion
Champion
Oct 16, 2014
Visit site
Have you tried ProShot? It's possibly a contender here too? I love to play with all the photo apps but I am FAR from professional. Have no idea what I'm doing, really LOL.

Digital-Nomad

Feb 20, 2017
Visit site
Hello, I use ProCamera as well. The 640-852 pixel image you're talking about is just the preview. If you export your RAW image the resolution is normal. You can dee it in the EXIF file after exporting the image to your computer.

Since about one year I don't bring any DSLR or point-and-shoot camera to my trips. My iPhone does the job wel for me ;-)

blaine07

Case & Accessory Champion
Champion
Oct 16, 2014
Visit site
Hello, I use ProCamera as well. The 640-852 pixel image you're talking about is just the preview. If you export your RAW image the resolution is normal. You can dee it in the EXIF file after exporting the image to your computer.