Can I make a suggestion?

AlexMarie15

Jan 4, 2017
Visit site
I think native English speakers underestimate how difficult it is, and how great of an achievement it is, for a non-Native speaker to write in English. There are plenty of individuals who complain about others' punctuation and grammar, yet make mistakes themselves. In my younger years, I may have made similar complaints, but the more exposed to world I become, and the more education I acquire, I realize how tricky language is. I don't comment often, but since I majored in English, and shall be going after a PhD in the philosophy of language, this thread sparked my defense mechanism of non-Native speakers. I'm not sure what threads the OP is referring to, but I do know that even the best English speakers make mistakes. It just takes a bit of graciousness to be understanding of the difficulty some have with writing and speaking in a language not "natural" to them. Also, imagine typing in a language that isn't native to you. I know my written Spanish and French would look pitiful, currently, to native speakers.

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Let me review. No one in this thread, at least from what I've read, stated that they do not or would not attempt to assist a member whose post/thread is difficult to understand based, in part, on poor grammar. The numerous people who have replied in this thread are quick to offer assistance whenever they can. A suggestion was made by the OP of which some of us are in agreement. It would indeed be easier to assist a person if what they posted were clearly relayed. That is a fact! Heck, we've had numerous people create a thread in their native language, and I've personally copied that information and pasted it via Google translate in an attempt to assist him or her. The OP made a suggestion of which some took it as a criticism. There are suggestions offered via the following link.