Swiping keyboard apps for iPhone

bwwhite

Sep 30, 2015
Visit site
I've moved from Android to iPhone with the 6s Plus. I've been using swiping on my phone for over 4 years. To go back to typing is a pain. Therefore, I've been looking for a good swiping keyboard app for my iPhone. So far I've tried out 4 apps and have found one that I will stick with for the time being unless I find something better.

My primary criterion for choosing the one I did was that I didn't want to change how I swiped. With 3 of the apps, I was not able to swipe the way I was used to doing on my Note 2. My thoughts are below.

==============

I swiped the following comments on 4 different swiping apps on my new iPhone 6s Plus. This is my first iPhone. I have been an Android user for 6 or 7 years. I've been using swipe for at least 4 years when I text. I hated the thought of losing that capability when I switched to an iPhone. Therefore, I read reviews and decided to try several of the apps.

I had used Swift Key and TouchPal on my Galaxy Note 2, so was somewhat familiar with them both. On that phone, I just used the stock Samsung keyboard or the Google keyboard.

I wrote a few sentences with each of the keyboards on my iPhone and the examples are shown below, enclosed in quotes. Mistakes are left in and corrected between parentheses. General comments follow each.

TouchPal (the mistakes on this one are more mine than the keyboard):
"This is a test of the Touch Pal keyboard. It dropped (swipes) similar to what I am use to on mug (my) Android phone."

UltimateKey Brilliant keyboard:
?Thus (this) is a test of the Ultimate Brilliant keyboard. it (It) often suggests stand (strange) wire (words) and dies (does) nit (not) automatically capitslize (capitalize) letters at the beginning if (of) a sentence.?

Swift Key: