Switched from Windows Phone to iPhone 6 Plus

rdubmu

Jul 18, 2012
Visit site
I am also a windows phone veteran, owning a htc hd7, Titan 2 and Lumia 920 over almost 4 years.. Now on with the iPhone 6 plus... I miss windows phone but I don't miss the app gap... And app quality.

Harry Wild

May 25, 2013
Visit site
Got a link? I couldn't find anything saying they're bringing it to any other platforms other than WP and possibly windows. There are plenty of articles from mid June speculating about bringing her to other platforms, but nothing more than that.

Cortana is probably the biggest thing I miss about WP, Siri frustrates me to no end.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Cortana may soon be ready to impart her knowledge onto iPhone, Android users | Windows Central

Cortana may soon be ready to lend her sagely knowledge and wisdom to users of non-Windows Phone platform. Microsoft could soon be ready to unleash Cortana, a digital voice assistant that debuted on Windows Phone, on to competing operating systems to take on the likes of Siri for iOS and Google Now on Android. Though specifics were not disclosed, Microsoft hinted at its plans to free Cortana soon.

According to a report on Business Insider, Microsoft chief experience officer Julie Larson-Green told a group of journalists and analysts that Cortana could be destined to land on other OSes.

When asked if that meant Cortana would eventually come to other operating systems, Larson-Green said, "The short answer is, yeah."

Likely, the experience of using Cortana on a system like iOS or Android would not be as rich or easy as it is on Windows Phone. Microsoft likely won't be able to tap into hardware keys to quickly call up Cortana as it does by a press of the search key on Windows Phone. The case is similar to Google Now for iOS, which requires iPhone users to launch the Google search app to call up Google's digital assistant versus a long press of the home key for the native Siri.