Welcome to the iMore Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree8Likes
  • 1 Post By EmceeGeek
  • 1 Post By SeanHRCC
  • 1 Post By iKev
  • 2 Post By Exsurgo
  • 1 Post By iKev
  • 1 Post By Jaguarr40
  • 1 Post By iKev
  1. Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  
    iMore Intermediate

Default Leave the Phone On All Day?

I searched and only found a thread about leaving the screen on overnight for an
    alarm clock, and that *may* have answered my question but I figured I'd ask here
    just to make sure.

Here's my situation: I'm a motorcycle cop and I have my phone mounted on the
    handlebars of the bike all day (plugged into speakers so I can listen to music/talk
    radio throughout the day). Habitually, like most of us, I put the phone in sleep mode
    when it's not in use. If the phone stays plugged into a power source all day, will it
    do any damage or noticeably shorten the life of the display if I leave it on all day?
    I'd like to leave it on the home screen so I don't have to go through the process of
    unlocking it while riding to see if I have a missed text or call; I can just glance down
    and see if there's a notification badge.

Thoughts? Thanks!

Sent from my iPad using

Global Posts
    3,498 Global Posts
    iOS Version

Default Re: Leave the Phone On All Day?

Yes it will shorten the life of the display however that shouldn't be a problem unless you keep the phone for more than 3 years. I have a friend who is also a motorcycle cop, has had his iPhone 4 set the same way for the last couple of years without issue. Much like the battery, will you actually keep the phone long enough to warrant a battery replacement? Seeing that the next great device is released once a year many people upgrade every other year. So I would feel confident with your intended use being just fine.
    jsntrenkler
    Mobile Gear: Retina Macbook Pro 13 / iPad Air / iPhone 5S / Pebble Smartwatch