Leave the Phone On All Day?

iKev

Jan 21, 2012
Visit site
I searched and only found a thread about leaving the screen on overnight for an
alarm clock, and that *may* have answered my question but I figured I'd ask here
just to make sure.

Here's my situation: I'm a motorcycle cop and I have my phone mounted on the
handlebars of the bike all day (plugged into speakers so I can listen to music/talk
radio throughout the day). Habitually, like most of us, I put the phone in sleep mode
when it's not in use. If the phone stays plugged into a power source all day, will it
do any damage or noticeably shorten the life of the display if I leave it on all day?
I'd like to leave it on the home screen so I don't have to go through the process of
unlocking it while riding to see if I have a missed text or call; I can just glance down
and see if there's a notification badge.

Thoughts? Thanks!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

jsntrenkler

Trusted Member
Mar 9, 2010
Visit site
Yes it will shorten the life of the display however that shouldn't be a problem unless you keep the phone for more than 3 years. I have a friend who is also a motorcycle cop, has had his iPhone 4 set the same way for the last couple of years without issue. Much like the battery, will you actually keep the phone long enough to warrant a battery replacement? Seeing that the next great device is released once a year many people upgrade every other year. So I would feel confident with your intended use being just fine.

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Of course, I don't have any proof, but I'd like to think that it would damage/shorten the life of the display.

EmceeGeek

Dec 1, 2010
Visit site
I'm only assuming that it would shorten the displays life as well as the battery. Good thing we have warranty exchanges and can update yearly.

anon(4698833)

Banned
Sep 7, 2010
Visit site