How to get a SIM for travelling to the UK?

theboyk

Mar 3, 2011
Visit site
Hello all!

I just read the excellent article here on iMore about travelling to the UK and the nano-SIM options available. Did some looking around the various company websites today and both THREE and O2 have some great deals (and seem like the best options, based on where she'll be travelling & the coverage available).

So, here's the thing. My wife is the one going to England, so I need to make this as easy as possible for her to do. She'll be travelling with her unlocked GSM iPhone 5, so the hardware isn't an issue. She doesn't need voice/text, just data (we just get data plans when travelling and use VOIP and Apple Messages for communicating). Since I've never done this in the UK before, is it as simple as her walking into an O2 or THREE store and purchasing a Pay as you Go plan for the month (and they'll give her the nano SIM and activate it on-the-spot)? Or, is it more complicated than that?

Also?since she only needs data, does anyone see any issues getting a data only SIM? For example, O2 have a "4G iPad SIM" Pay & Go option for ?15 (3GB data?more than enough for her needs)?since the nano SIM will work in the iPhone 5, it should work as "data only" on the iPhone. We've done this when travelling to other countries (mainly to the US, from Canada) and it's been a perfect option (again, as she won't need a local telephone number or texting). But, again, as we've not done this in the UK, just wondering if anyone else has? O2 online "support" said it's not an issue, but, then again, they also couldn't tell me where I could find an O2 store, so I don't have a lot of faith in them. <G>