Newbie debate... iPhone 5 or iPhone 4S with iOS6?

YahyaRivero

Sep 14, 2012
Visit site
Hello everyone. I'll make the story of my journey short. I'm new to iMore but have been with Crackberry for a long time. I've only owned the first iPhone years ago and loved it. When I first got the iPhone I was excited about the basic functions, YouTube videos and apps. After only a few months I grew tired of it and realized that I needed some something that actually worked. Meaning something I can copy & paste with and etc. So obviously I got a Blackberry.

Now that Apple has added so many features to their phone since then, I'm dying to go back to Apple.

My concern is that I don't see much of a difference between the iPhone 5 and the 4S with iOS6 installed. What's making me lean towards the 5 is the A6 processor and beautiful design, but is that enough for me to get it? Service providers are offering the 4S at a much lower price that's TEMPTING!

Can anyone give advice? Does anyone feel the same as I do?

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Since the iPhone 5 is the latest and is one of the two you are considering, I would recommend it over the 4S. If money is an issue then don't hesitate one second to grab the 4S and yes, the 4S is that good of a device.

sj-performance

Oct 11, 2011
Visit site
...if your jumping back to the iPhone and money ain't an issue get the 5...you will get the latest and greatest apple has to offer in an iPhone today...

...on iPhone5/iOS6 via Tapatalk...

anon(4698833)

Banned
Sep 7, 2010
Visit site
The iPhone 5 is a world different than the iPhone 4S in many ways, and the same in many ways (which in my opinion is a great thing). If you're not hurting for money, why not upgrade to the latest version?

Joe McG

Jun 9, 2009
Visit site
The iPhone 5 is worth the money because of LTE alone. The screen is just icing on the cake. Go with the 5. You will not be disappointed!

SnapThrow

Jul 1, 2009
Visit site