Welcome to the iMore Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  
    iPhone Beginner

Global Posts
    72 Global Posts
    iOS Version

Default Verizon Tether or PDANet?

Now that I have moved our family plan to the new Verizon plan with data sharing (which removes the additional costs for tethering), I am wondering if the Verizon hotspot app on my 4S would be a better thing to use than PDANet. I have been using PDANet for about 9 months, and have noticed at times that it can be sluggish or unresponsive. Not sure if that is the fault of PDANet, or the quality of the network. But a little voice in my head is saying the VZW software might work better. Does anyone have experience with this and would like to share an opinion?

TIA.
    Chester
    iPhone 4S, iPad 2
    Follow me on Instagram (coskier) | Twitter (@coskier) | Pinterest
    iMore Genius

Global Posts
    6,455 Global Posts

I would say if you don't have an unlimited data plan it doesn't matter, just tether through Verizon, if that works better.

Sent from my iPhone 4S using Tapatalk.
  3. Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  
    iPhone Beginner

Global Posts
    72 Global Posts
    iOS Version

Quote Originally Posted by Irish Rose View Post
    I would say if you don't have an unlimited data plan it doesn't matter, just tether through Verizon, if that works better.

Sent from my iPhone 4S using Tapatalk.
    That's the feedback I am searching for, if anyone has experience with it to know if it is better.
    Chester
    iPhone 4S, iPad 2
    Follow me on Instagram (coskier) | Twitter (@coskier) | Pinterest
    iMore Intermediate

Global Posts
    1,086 Global Posts
    iOS Version
    iOS 6

Verizon's tethering is much better than PDANet
    iPhone Newbie

Global Posts
    29 Global Posts
    iOS Version