new to iPhone, question about Photos

ituleb

Feb 13, 2012
Visit site
Hello - I am new to iPhone (4s verizon) and am new to Apple in general. I have figured a lot of things out but am wondering about Photos currently...

I have a PC at home and I have iCloud enabled (though without a Mac at home or an iPad, it is unnecessary for the most part).

However, when I go into my 'Photos' - I have two separate photo areas, Camera Roll and Photo Stream. Most of the photos on my phone are in both albums, although there are about 12 photos that are in Photo Stream that are not in Camera Roll.

Why are there 2 albums? Is this because of iCloud - I'm confused by this. Are both necessary? I want to have the iCloud option even if all I have is the iPhone, because if I were to lose the phone/get damaged/etc, I want to have access to my pictures again.

Any advice/guidance on this would be helpful. Thanks for your help and time!

fury

Aug 8, 2010
Visit site
Photo Stream takes pictures from all sorts of sources (Mac, PC, iPhone, iPod, iPad) and pushes them to all the devices that you use with iCloud. Since you take pictures with your iPhone, they'll bounce up to the cloud from your camera roll and straight back down into the Photo Stream.

iCloud only keeps 30 days worth of photos in Photo Stream, and iPhones only store the last 1,000 photos from Photo Stream. Your computer, however, will keep any and all of them indefinitely if you've got it receiving Photo Stream photos.