Changed Apple ID - need help

gary1949

Nov 9, 2011
Visit site
I changed my Apple ID by creating a new ID - I didn't follow the Apple procedure to change my ID because I didn't know there was a procedure to do so.

When I try to use the App Store, iTunes or the Apple Store on my 4S it shows my OLD Apple ID in light gray and I can find no way to change it to my new Apple ID. I've changed my Apple ID on iTunes on my PC and synced - didn't help.

Be kind in your responses - I'm pretty new to IOS. Thanks.

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Go to Settings-Store and then select your Apple ID and logout. Afterwards, login with your new Apple ID. Do a backup to be on the safe side beforehand.

Reactions: gary1949

Cleveland

Jun 29, 2010
Visit site
I changed my Apple ID by creating a new ID - I didn't follow the Apple procedure to change my ID because I didn't know there was a procedure to do so.

When I try to use the App Store, iTunes or the Apple Store on my 4S it shows my OLD Apple ID in light gray and I can find no way to change it to my new Apple ID. I've changed my Apple ID on iTunes on my PC and synced - didn't help.

Be kind in your responses - I'm pretty new to IOS. Thanks.

Keep in mind that anything you bought from the app store will be lost if I'm not mistaken - if I am I apologize for my incorrectness

Just_Me_D

Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Keep in mind that anything you bought from the app store will be lost if I'm not mistaken - if I am I apologize for my incorrectness

I believe you are correct. Let me clear something up, if I can. I have an iPhone 4S with Verizon and my daughter has an iPhone 4 with AT&T. We were using the same Apple ID until our data started showing up on each other's devices. After that, I created her own Apple ID and I created a different Apple ID for myself, however, we share the original Apple ID for purchases only via the App store. So in summary,

Daughter: janedoe@whatever.com