Emails Questons

my3gr8kidz

Oct 21, 2011
Visit site
Sorry if this is a repeat question I am new to forums and to the iphone.
I was a totally BB person and was used to the email features on it, I got the new iphone 4s last night and am questioning a few things about the email.

On BB when deleting an email it would ask you if you wanted to delete it from your hand held or from both the hand held and the server. If I am not at my work desktop and needed something left there for me to do when I got back in the office I would delete it from my handheld so it would be there for me when I got back to work to do ut not be on my phone anymore.

When deleting an email from the iphone there is not this option. SO if I delete it, does it delete it from my server as well?

Is there a way to be asked this per email?

Again sorry if this is a repeat question, I'm just getting started with the apple experience here.

Thank you!

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site
BB uses their own servers for email, so they have more control over how it's handled. The iPhone uses whatever email you have. Your best bet is IMAP or Exchange. Google mail can be used as either. Both IMAP and Exchange will act the same way across platforms - if you delete in one place (your iPhone) it's gone from everywhere. It mirrors the server. Pop3 gives you the option of leaving email on the server, but it misses many functions most people want in email.

Do you know what kind of mail server you have?

my3gr8kidz

Oct 21, 2011
Visit site
Im going to be totally honest with you.... I know it's was set up as IMAP whatever that is. I really don't know anything about it. I am a creature of habit so I was making the change from BB and it took me a while to decide between the Iphone and the Droid but most people said Iphone. Just gettin git last night I have a long way to go in learning about this phone. I just didn't want to be deleting emails and then they are gone from the desktops as well.