Welcome to the iMore Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  
    iPhone Nanite

Default can i update my firmware without udating to the newest version 5.1.1

i'm a newbie needing help. i have an iphone 4 on the 4.3.5 firmware & would like to update it to 5.0 or 5.0.1, whichever is best i'm not sure, before i jailbreak it. is this possible without updating to the newest version just released 5.1.1...thanks for any help
    iMore Pro

iOS Version

Quote Originally Posted by spe413 View Post
    i'm a newbie needing help. i have an iphone 4 on the 4.3.5 firmware & would like to update it to 5.0 or 5.0.1, whichever is best i'm not sure, before i jailbreak it. is this possible without updating to the newest version just released 5.1.1...thanks for any help
    I'm afraid you can't unless you have been previosuly jailbroken on the firmware that you want to install. So for example you could upgarde to the lastest version now (5.1.1) and if you wheren't happy with it, you could downgrade back to 4.3.5 if you wanted. Are you jailbroken now, because you could jailbreak 4.3.5, but it is a tethered jailbreak. You can jailbreak 5.1.1 and have a tethered jailbreak in the same way.

Do you want 5.0 or 5.0.1 so that you can have an un-tethered jailbreak, because if you do there is no way to get to those versions of firmware without having been previously jailboken on them. The reason is because you need to fetch & save a file called an SHSH blob file which is created when jailboken on each IOS firmware version. I have my SHSH blob files saved for 4.3.5 and 5.0.1, so if I update I can go back to these at anytime. These are individual for each device under each firmware, so for example you couldn't use my SHSH blob files.

Hope this helps, give me a shout if you need some more help.
    Last edited by 1982ollie; 05-08-2012 at 08:01 AM.
    Thanked by:
    spe413 (05-08-2012)