Welcome to the iMore Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  
    jsf721's Avatar
    iPhone Newbie

    Posts
    11 Posts
    iOS Version
    5.1

    Default Selling old iP4

    How do I ensure that I get all the data off the old iP4 before I sell it? i dont want any issues with iMessage going to the new user. This is my sons old iP4 so it does not have business info but still lookingh to avoid any hasstle down the road.

    \It is a verizon iP4 if that matters (no Sim)
    thanks
  2. #2  
    joe_fresh's Avatar
    iMore Intermediate

    Posts
    315 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,509 Global Posts
    iOS Version
    6

    Default

    Hook it up to itunes and restore as new device, or go into settings>general, scroll all the way to the bottom and hit erase all content and settings. Do that first then do the itunes thing.. that should ensure its clean.
  3. #3  
    fubaracing7374's Avatar
    iMore Intermediate

    Posts
    279 Posts
    Global Posts
    412 Global Posts

    Default

    Settings>General>Reset>Erase all Content and Settings


    Sent from my iPhone 4S using Tapatalk
  4. Thread AuthorThread Author   #4  
    jsf721's Avatar
    iPhone Newbie

    Posts
    11 Posts
    iOS Version
    5.1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joe_fresh View Post
    Hook it up to itunes and restore as new device, or go into settings>general, scroll all the way to the bottom and hit erase all content and settings. Do that first then do the itunes thing.. that should ensure its clean.
    Quote Originally Posted by Fubaracing7374 View Post
    Settings>General>Reset>Erase all Content and Settings


    Sent from my iPhone 4S using Tapatalk
    Thanks very much!
  5. #5  
    Jared DiPane's Avatar
    iMore Newbie

    Posts
    37 Posts
    Global Posts
    7,080 Global Posts

    Default

    Personally I would turn off iMessage in settings before doing any of that.

    This way it is off, then can be cleared.
  6. #6  
    stevesmart's Avatar
    iMore Nanite

    Posts
    5 Posts

    Default

    I'd also delete your account from the App Store app - there has been a glitch in the past where it would remember your details even after it's been restores, but I'm pretty sure that was fixed. Better be safe, though.

Posting Permissions