Hello, and My Iphone 4 has issues...

iNewb14

Jan 2, 2012
Visit site
Hello All,

I'm new to the site, so I've been looking around and couldn't quite find anything that's as weird as my issue. I'm quite new to the Iphone but i do know quite a bit about technology/computers. Oh, and I'm a DIY type of guy.

So here are the things with my Iphone 4. It's out of warranty a. because its over a year old, and b. it has been dropped and the digitizer is cracked. (which im getting repaired in the next couple days.)

But here is my issue. After it was dropped, it was acting kind of buggy. At first nothing would happen, would show low battery, wouldn't connect to any source of power, nothing, just blank, no lights. Then it started randomly showing low battery, so i plugged it in and voila, it started to charge. After it had charged i turned it on, it ran for 5 mins and shut off. It connected to iTunes from there on and everything. But after that 5 mins it would be in like a boot loop. Constantly. When it did work though, i had noticed that the home button didn't work.

After the boot loop started i hooked it up to itunes and tried a restore, after i got the 3194 error while verifying with apple, i got that fixed up through the hosts file. It finally started to restore, But then when it was about 75% done on the screen of the iphone, a circle showed up at the bottom and it powered down :(

And i got this huge error # on iTunes. jk, It was error code (1) telling me that an unknown error occured.
I am trying to update to firmware 4.3.5 and I'm on firmware 4.3.5.

My questions are, well what does this error mean as i can't find anything on it? And, when the iphone restores, does it check to make sure all components are working? Would a restore work with a broken home button? or is it something else thats broken? Also there is no SIM in the Phone, but i didn't think a SIM would do anything.

Cheers, and Thanks for reading.

iNewb14

tlo07

Mar 16, 2010
Visit site