Welcome to the iMore Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  
    iMore Beginner

Default Where are my ringtones?

I added 6 custom ringtones (all with m4r extension) via itunes, but can't seem to find them anywhere on my phone? I am a iPhone newbie. Can I get a little help....what am I missing? Thanks
    iPhone Nanite

iOS Version
    iOS 5.0.1

If you sync them correctly thru your itunes you can find all the ringtunes you added on;

Settings > Sounds > Ringtone or Text Tone and it should be there with the same file name it was saved as.
  3. Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  
    iMore Beginner

I added them with the m4r extension to my ringtones folder but they don't shoe up in my ringtone folder. I followed steps I found online to do it but can't figure out what I am doing wrong
    iMore Elite

Global Posts
    3,367 Global Posts
    iOS Version

Quote Originally Posted by lytefall View Post
    I added them with the m4r extension to my ringtones folder but they don't shoe up in my ringtone folder. I followed steps I found online to do it but can't figure out what I am doing wrong
    After you change the file extension from .m4a to .m4r delete the original .m4a file from iTunes. Then drag the new .m4r file from explorer into iTunes and it should show up in the ringtones section.
  5. Thread AuthorThread Author   #5  
    iMore Beginner

Ok. It was downloaded from a website with ringtones optimized for iPhone. As far as I am aware the file extension was already m4r when I downloaded it. I will check again though

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    iPhone Nanite

iOS Version
    iOS 5.0.1

following up what sting7k said. On your itunes make sure you see "Tones" under Library on the left, sometimes by default it's not shown.