16 or 32gb?

sudbury78

Feb 2, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to apple products and will be preordering an iPhone at retail price (hopefully) at 1am az time. I am unclear with the difference in gb with this phone. Does the amount of apps eat up the gigs or would it be video and music like an iPod or iPad? Apologize for the ignorant question. Thanks guys and gals. It's coming.....

lcargile

Jun 27, 2010
Visit site
I absolutely recommend the 32gb version. I currently have a 32gb iPod touch (and will be giving it to the misses as soon as my ViP arrives) and am really glad that I didn't just settle for the 16gb. When you get your iPhone you are going to want to throw every stupid song you have ever liked on it. Your going to stuff movies on there for the long drives/flights that we all experience, and you are going to beat the brakes off of the App Store whether you think so or not and apps do take up a lot of space if you keep all the ones that you download. Plus, think about it this way; if you get the 32gb version you wont have to constantly police your memory to make sure that you have enough on there for something. You can put however much of whatever you want and just do a regular clean up every now and then by deleting the junk you dont use as often as you thought you would. Its definitely worth it on the back end in my opinion. Hope that helps.

DoctorK

Jan 16, 2011
Visit site
Plus, if you're going to be shooting video you'll want 2-4GB free for that. With a 16GB phone I think you'd be spending a lot of time "policing" as cargile said.

lcargile

Jun 27, 2010
Visit site
Yeah, unfortunately the 16gb iPhone (for me now, not everyone) is like the "fun size" snickers bar...its just enough to piss you off. If its not going to break the bank then your money is well invested in the 32gb version. Plus, you will have a lot better resale value if you ever decide to sell it.

scorpiodsu

Jan 28, 2011
Visit site