Battery Life

raisinbagel

Sep 29, 2010
Visit site
I'm a pretty experienced iPhone user, I started back when the 3G originally released but I have a few questions regarding iPhone 4. I recently purchased one because battery is a very important factor to me, and I figured I deserved an upgrade from my 3G anyways. I read in Engadget's iPhone 4 review that they were able to crank out 38 hours of battery out of this beast. After purchasing the phone and syncing my data from my old iPhone I haven't been so lucky with my battery. I feel like its average at best. I'm a user who likes to enjoy all of the features of what I purchased without having to sacrifice other features, such as battery life. I mostly have a question regarding the effect on battery using Apple's push notification system on applications and on the e-mail client built into the phone. I also would like to know if anyone else had any other comments on other noticeable battery killers. I'm a fairly tech savvy so I know that obviously some things such as keeping the screen running on full brightness and no screen time-out will kill a battery quickly, but from what I understood was that push notifications were supposed to conserve battery life, and not kill it. Anyways I'd like to hear what everyone here has to say, this is my first post here, and I apologize for the long winded post.

Roo Zilla

Dec 17, 2008
Visit site
Turning on push notifications will lessen battery life. In order for push to work, the phone has to maintain a TCP connection with the network, doing so uses power. The idea behind push notifications conserving power is that the program itself does not have to constantly run, which would lessen battery life even more.

zacharace

Mar 1, 2010
Visit site