How to integrate PDF reader into iOS?

juanantoniod

Aug 2, 2010
Visit site
Hello,

I'm new at iPhone, so I am still trying to figure out all the ins and outs of the device. One area in particular is readers, particularly for PDF text booklets from my college.

I tried GoodReader, and did not like the way it scrolled (or didn't). Also, its re-flow function left a lot of the critical headings out of context. I tried Stanza, and I really loved that it would make a dark background with my color of text and links. However, it also makes color photos in this view as negative images. It also seems to not know how to scroll easily.

Per the advice of a kind poster, I tried Aji. I love this little app, but it has me stumped. It does almost everything I want. It "scroll locks", so that as I scroll down in my document, it maintains the lock on the one column (page) of text, which I have magnified as much as will fit in a horizontal screen. The only drawbacks are 1) that it does not do the cool color on black "night" effect; and

2) It does not seem to "integrate" into iOS like Stanza, Goodreader, and iRead did. What I am talking about is that I use the MobileMe service, so I have iDisk set up on iPhone. Therefore, I can go into my iDisk and open a PDF file, and it appears in the iPhone default (native?) PDF viewer. Then, there s a little square with a curved arrow at the bottom, and pressing on this will allow me to send the PDF to Stanza, Goodreader, or iRead, but *NOT* Aji.

I figure this could be due to a couple of factors. One, iPhone only allows you to have 3 alternate PDF viewers to "send" the document into, but this does not seem likely since iPhone is so capable of doing everything else. Or, two, the Aji app does not integrate with iOS like the other "reader/viewers" do.