iPhone 4 is WET!

raleighj45

Jul 12, 2010
Visit site
My new 3 day old iPhone 4 just got drenched in water! I am a firefighter in the Sacramento, CA area and today was on a small brush fire. While I was out there working a helicopter dropped a 500 gallon bucket of water right on top of me. Because I was so excited about my new phone, i had it in my jacket pocket and it got drenched as my pockets were full of standing water. I immediately shut my iPhone down and when I got back to the station shoved it in a bag of rice. So far it wont turn on. Does anyone have any advice to get this thing to come back?!

I feel as though i'm about to cry at any moment. Loved the phone the 3 days I had it working.

Sadly,

Raleigh

Mickyfin

Jul 3, 2010
nokiadna.com
If your confident enough, remove the two bottom screws, and remove the back glass, and continue to dry it out for s few days, but if you can remove the battery too, this will help also.

realpatmurphy

Jul 8, 2010
Visit site
Attempt an exchange. I have heard some stories about people who work in Law enforcement and Firefighters who have successfully exchanged their iPhones because of damage in the field. Whether it was an officer whose phone was damaged chasing a criminal or a firefighter who got it damaged by water or heat. Then again these may just be isolated cases but its worth a shot if what you are trying does not work.

gern blanston

Jun 14, 2010
Visit site
Ugh, I feel so bad for you. If you get a replacement, I highly recommend Squaretrade.com: they paid to replace my 3G that was damaged by water after a $50 deductible. The process was quick and painless.

raleighj45

Jul 12, 2010
Visit site