Listening to iPhone 4 in the car, interference?

Bill McNeal

Apr 23, 2009
Visit site
Hello,
Got my new iPhone on Thursday, upgrading from a 3g. The head unit in my car has an aux. input on the front and I've been listening to my 3g on it for the past 2 years with no issues at all aside from the normal GSM interference when not on 3g service.
My 4 has a very noticeable hiss, whine, or buzz when I plug it in. It's very, VERY annoying, basically making in unlistenable. I've tried it with slacker, pandora, MLB at bat, Wunderradio and iPod and it is there just the same on all services.

Is anyone else having this issue? or is something wrong with my phone?

For the record, I've tried headphones, and they are fine. I had a ground loop isolator around and put that on the line and it filters out the whine, but the audio quality is not nearly as it good on my 3g.

If anyone has any feedback it would be appreciated, even if it is just to say you are plugging it into your car stereo and you are not having the issue.

Thanks!

Last edited:

Bill McNeal

Apr 23, 2009
Visit site
Bump.
If anyone has plugged their ip4 into a radio of anykinds using the headphone jack, did you have a fairly loud hiss or whine in the line?

big9erfan

Jun 2, 2009
Visit site
Get an AUX cable with a ground loop in it. I got one off Amazon last year for use with my 3GS. Works flawlessly.

Bill McNeal

Apr 23, 2009
Visit site
thanks. I have the ground loop cable already, I was just wondering if this was a an issue with my unit or if it was global. Looks like I'm headed for the genius bar.

bergman

Jun 10, 2008
Visit site
Is the interference coming through the cable or is it the phone sending data and hitting the radio/amp directly? I get the latter, but not an issue when listening to MP3's via AUX.

CJEscandell

Jun 18, 2009
Visit site
Hello,