Disable Apple

troy9129

Feb 15, 2010
Visit site
Is it possible to disable apple.com, imap, and any other applications that my IPhone 3GS is trying to run in the background? I am using a server with very limited bandwidth and I can see on the router log that these applications are always running and I think it is bogging down my email. The only thing I want to do is access my company email and possibly gmail.

flyingember

Jun 18, 2009
Visit site
You want to disable imap but want to keep email.

Stop doing what you're trying and go learn how email connects...

Also, what is your server?

troy9129

Feb 15, 2010
Visit site
Okay, maybe not imap, but definitely apple.com. I am just learning the IPhone but I see a big difference in the way the BB and ITouch work with this server.

Can I keep the IPhone from going to apple.com, or if I accidently hit the Apps store or the Itunes store? I only want to access my compnay email.

troy9129

Feb 15, 2010
Visit site
I don't want to go to any of these sites, thats the problem. My IPhone automatically goes to apple.com and then I accidently hit the apps store and it was trying to go there.

I have to use the Wi-Fi and I only want to go to my company email. Because the IPhone is trying to go these other sites, it is slowing the whole thing down and me emails are failing because I have very limited bandwidth.

Blackberry and ITouch work great because they do not pull up all this other stuff.

big9erfan

Jun 2, 2009
Visit site
You can't stop it from going there if you accidentally go to the Apps store.

I'm not sure why it is going to apple.com in the background other than that, are you 100% sure it is your iPhone and not iTunes on your computer checking for updates?

troy9129

Feb 15, 2010
Visit site
Nope, the computer that I am checking the router with does not have Itunes.

So I will keep it simple.

How do I keep the IPhone from going to apple.com in the background?

big9erfan

Jun 2, 2009
Visit site