Speaker And Metal Fragments?

StinkyPeas

Jan 18, 2010
Visit site
I just recently purchased the iPhone 3g 8gb model, coming over from the palm pre:D(i am much happier i might add). I went through about four pre's because the speakers just seemed to blow out after about a week's time. It wasnt until i did some investigation and found out my work was the culprit. I'm a welder and metal grinder and lots of tiny metal fragments fly by my head daily and those fragments seemed to get into the speaker of the pre and blow it out. I was just wondering if anyone has any background knowledge about this for the iphone because if i could avoid blowing out my iphone speaker i would like to! I'm sorry if this has already been posted but to my best efforts i could not find anything about this problem.

iquinn

Jul 4, 2009
Visit site
So if I understand you right this happens when you put the phone to your ear. If that is the case I would try using a bluetooth headset instead of holding the phone to your ear. Otherwise I would invest in a good case to keep the metal out of your iphone. Hope this helps and welcome to the forums.

StinkyPeas

Jan 18, 2010
Visit site
thanks for the quick response and warm welcome. But no actually this happened while the phone was in my pocket of all things. I would like to have my phone in my work without keeping it in a zip lock bag:rolleyes:

StinkyPeas

Jan 18, 2010
Visit site
Thanks a lot i will probably try one of these cases. Another quick question if my speaker would happen to blow out do u think the warranty would cover it or no?

iquinn

Jul 4, 2009
Visit site
Thanks a lot i will probably try one of these cases. Another quick question if my speaker would happen to blow out do u think the warranty would cover it or no?

Umm I don't think so, not if they could see the metal flakes in the speaker. I don't think even Apple Care would cover that.

jnickell

Nov 22, 2009
Visit site