A Total Newbie, Drowning in Choices I Don't Understand

Lesley547

Aug 27, 2009
Visit site
:eek:My partner and I have a family account with T-Mobile with 2 vanilla Motorolas that mostly sit quietly at the bottom of our respective purses until one of us is late for something and the other becomes frantic enough to paw through 20 lbs of junk to see if a message has been left.

Though we spend lots and lots of time on our desktop computers and love our IPods, we are illiterate with respect to even the simplest capabilities of the phones we have. Text messages? What's that? Oh - it costs money, forget about it.

So anyway, her birthday is coming up and my boss just got the IPhone 3G and this usually staid businessman is jumping up and down about how much fun he's having with it, and all the wonderful things it can do. Thought I'd wander into the internet and see what these Smartphones are all about. Jeez!! I've been out of the loop for so long I don't even understand the language being spoken, and I can't imagine typing a message without a keyboard. (I'm almost a senior citizen and may have met my Waterloo)

Is there someplace I can go to learn this technology on the See-Spot-Run level so I can intelligently assess the choices that are out there and make a good one? The idea of a phone you can use for e-mail, web surfing and I-Tunes is truly appealing. But some people say AT&T reception sucks, or wait a year and there may be more carriers ... I've always had good customer service with T-Mobile, but am frustrated by our inability to download I-Tunes on anything but the Apple-AT&T system. Who can walk me through this maze?

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site
Your best bet is to sit down and figure out your questions first. For instance AT&T vs T-Mo. That will depend totally on where you live. Any way you look at it, T-Mo is cheaper. But (there's always a but, isn't there), an iPhone will be cheaper on AT&T than if you buy one on ebay or Craig's List to use on T-Mo.