Welcome to the iMore Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  
    iPhoneExpert111's Avatar
    iPhone Newbie

    26 Posts

    Default How to Wipe an iPhone’s Memory

    If you are moving up to the new iPhone 3GS, you may wonder what to do with you old phone. You can give it to someone else, or resell it, but whatever you decide to do, wipe the memory first.
    reset iphone

    It’s easy. Here’s what to do.

    Go to your settings menu -– the icon with the gears. Look for “General,” a menu with the same gear icon as the Settings menu. At the very bottom of the General menu is a “Reset” button. Touch it. Then choose “Erase All Content and Settings.”

    When the warning pops up tell it to go ahead. It will tell you that it can take up to 2 hours — mine took exactly an hour and 57 minutes -– but it doesn’t have to be supervised while running. It takes a long time because a security feature writes randomly on top of your old data, making it harder for bad guys to find what you erased.

    There it is, ready to be set up for its new owner, free of your settings, search history, passwords, and any, ahem, personal photos.

Posting Permissions