How good is Apple Care?? Is this story true? Pls help!

Crunch

Sep 17, 2008
Visit site
I'm asking because a lot of people I know with Mac's say Apple Care is the gold standard in servicing your Apple products.

One friend who's had Apple notebooks for a while, and even briefly worked as a "Mac Genius" said that I could walk into any Apple store if I had any problem with my iPhone 3G, and they would simply hand me a new one, no questions asked, no receipts necessary...I said "Wow, hard to believe. Is this for real?", to which he replied "yes, even though he beats up on his notebooks quite a bit, they still, while under warranty, exchange it".

I want to hear your opinions, folks. Sounds too good to be true as far as I'm concerned. Would be great, and if true, I'd seriously consider a Macbook, as well as another iPhone 3G for a present for a good friend. I work in IT, and co-workers as well as friends come to me quite often to seek advice as to what to buy and what to stay away from, so Apple would benefit quite a bit if Apple Care really is that "good" and "generous"...

Thanks everyone! :)

Leanna Lofte

App and photo editor
Sep 7, 2008
Visit site
Yes, AppleCare is amazing. It will make the difference between you getting a product repaired/replaced or not, even if you are under warranty. The first thing a genius does when you walk up to the counter is check if you have AppleCare. If you don't, something that can be blamed on you likely will be. But if you have AppleCare, you'll be taken care of. I think this is part of the reason Apple doesn't refer to it as an extended warrenty, because it really is more than that. It's like a special membership to a club, lol..

My brother is a genius adminstrator for Apple. This is what he's told me.

Crunch

Sep 17, 2008
Visit site