Can I update or get new apps on an old iPhone 3GS?

M L

May 14, 2015
Visit site
I've never used an iPhone before but just dusted off a friends old 3gs, popped in my Net10 sim card and changed the apn settings. It works, makes calls and have data and wifi. So far so good. My question now is do I need to have an iTunes account? Or can I even? I'm not sure if it would be able to update ios at all, looks like it's on Version 4.3.5, would any of the apps be able to be updated, or can I get new apps for a phone this old? Would connecting to iTunes change the current settings and mess everything up for me?

Last edited:

kch50428

Oct 22, 2010
Visit site
Re: iPhone 3gs

Do you need an AppleID/iTunes account? No... Would having one be of benefit? I honestly don't know with a device of that vintage...

M L

May 14, 2015
Visit site

thanks, I think.
...I don't mean to seem rude but why bother responding if your answer is "I don't know" ?

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Re: can I update or get new apps on an old iPhone 3gs

Many of the apps that are in the App Store require a more recent version of iOS. Having said that, you will be limited in which apps you will be able to install. Anyway, you will need an Apple ID, a gift card or debit/credit card in order to download apps from the App Store. As for whether or not you can update your iOS version, you can connect it to your computer, initiate the computer's iTunes app and then select update to find out. As for your last question, the answer is maybe. I mean, it may detect that the device is registered on a different computer and may ask if you want to register it with your computer, but I'm only speculating. You won't know for certain until you connect.

M L

May 14, 2015
Visit site