Should a student get an iPad for college?

jsntrenkler

Trusted Member
Mar 9, 2010
Visit site
Hello iMore,

Would you recommend a iPad for a student? Or should they go with a laptop? Please share your thoughts below, also what would be a major deciding point between the two?

Speedygi

Mar 31, 2012
Visit site
It depends if you like to read or not, because I feel iPad is really ultimately good for reading, it being almost a book size and all. It would serve as a good reading device for when you need to do research online as well, if not textbooks that you could theoretically buy and download on iBooks and I think for the Amazon Kindle app.

It could also serve as a way to funnel your study email and all if you have those..as it would be a super comfortable device for email reading, and the on-screen keyboard is actually decent to type on in small email sized bouts.

Sent from my HTC One using Mobile Nations mobile app

melbsteve

Jun 23, 2013
Visit site
being a student I would definitely recommend it. I do all my weekly readings (a lot of paper) on it, it's amazing for all kinds of text/reading work, easily taken with you into lectures/seminars and iCloud+pages are also just neat. Take notes etc at uni and once you come home and turn on your desktop computer, bam, it is all right there waiting for you.

cyberpaw

Oct 27, 2011
Visit site
If you can get both, that's the ideal. But if you can only afford one, read on....

For in class and around campus use, an iPad is more useable - smaller profile, lays flat on desk, not as visible to instructor, etc.. For more intensive use, like researching. typing and printing out papers - and there will be a lot of them - a laptop or desktop might be better.

I have students now who only use tablets, but they usually will have somekind of external keyboard, when they need to type a lot. Also you will need to have a wireless printer that is iPad compatible.