Review: Decked Builder HD, by TJ Soft

cjvitek

Jul 5, 2008
Visit site
[URL="https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/decked-builder-hd/id416254013?mt=8&at=10l3Vy]Decked Builder HD[/URL], by TJ Soft
$5.99 (with in app purchases), ***1/2

Pros:
  • Lots of useful tools
  • Card scanner works well (with limitations)
  • Can test decks and keep your MtG collection

Cons:
  • Not user friendly, nor intuit
  • Can get expensive
  • Layout leaves a lot to be desired

I started playing Magic the Gathering (yes, nerd alert!) about twenty two years ago, in 1993 (man, I feel old now). At that time, we carried our cards in shoe boxes or small card boxes, and no one thought about protecting cards unless you had something like a Black Lotus. Nowadays, there are millions of cards out there, everyone plays with sleeves, there are pre-release tournaments, and more. Suffice to say, Magic is big business, even as a casual player. It takes some effort to keep track of all your cards. Enter Decked Builder HD. While this app is available for both the iPad and the iPhone (and the review is the same for both) the pictures in the review are from the iPad version.

With Decked Builder HD, you can keep track of your collection of cards, including different expansion sets, foil or non-foil versions, and even special pre-release types of cards. You can sort them all, sync up your database with DropBox, and iCloud. If you don?t want to manually enter all your cards, you have the option of scanning them (if you purchase a $4.99 camera feature as an in app purchase). Once your collection is complete, you can build decks, test them out (for example, finding out if you routinely draw too little or too much land), and even share decks and collections with other people. It is, simply put, a rather full-featured app.

Photo Jan 25, 7 59 40 PM.jpg
Figure 1. Full features searching makes is easy to find cards.