optimum picture size for albums?

openthepodbaydoors

Mar 17, 2012
Visit site
I am a painter and a photographer. The main reason I bought the new iPad is for the new retina display. Although I am able to synch my old albums from Aperture ,which I made with my iPad 2 in mind. I am now having doubts about my old albums on the new iPad. Although they work , I don't think I am getting the full benefits of the retina display. Ideal display size is more important to me than storage. Please let me know your thoughts on the ideal picture size. (max-min)

This is the main reason I bought the new iPad. As any artist knows, showing what you do is far easier than explaining it.

Thanks in advance.

takata

Feb 12, 2011
Visit site
I noticed that the photos' usage in my iPad space has increased a great deal. The same albums took 1GB odd on my old iPad, now takes more than 6GB on the new iPad! But when blown up, they look almost identical.

Though I must say that at the default viewing size, they do look a great deal better. I guess that is simply because the screen is much better.

openthepodbaydoors

Mar 17, 2012
Visit site
Yes I noticed that as well, is strange this seems to occur on the first synch. Then on the 2nd and 3rd synchs, photos seem to revert back to initial sizes. I'm using both the iPad 2 and the new iPad with the most recent version of itunes. The irony is that both iPads have same apps ,same info , the new ipad shows 3.1 GB used, the iPad 2 shows 4.8 GB used . It seems that many of the same apps installed on the new iPad are taking up less space.

Getting back to my initial question I'm still trying to figure out ideal size ,max -min . I shoot 8x10 negatives on a view camera and scan the prints. For my first albums on the iPad 2 I did a little over 1080 x 1920, giving me a 492 KB file size . On the new iPad do I have to go a little over 2048 x 1536 ?