Handbrake Settings / Video transfer

Xara

Oct 7, 2012
Visit site
I have just been on holiday so have lots of video that I want to transfer to my iPad. The video is an mpeg format so I believe that I will need to convert this before I can transfer it onto my iPad.

Having searched the forums I found handbrake getting regular recommendations. I downloaded it and tried it and found the quality to of the converted file to be rubbish, the picture quality was bad and the sound wasn't great. I must be doing something wrong. Can anyone tell me what settings I should be using or what I should be doing with handbrake, I'm a bit of a novice with these things. Thanks.

Bazza1

Mar 13, 2011
Visit site
I haven't used Handbrake for a number of years, so I can't give you guidance there, but if you are a Mac user, you might wish to try the freeware Smart Converter from the Mac App Store. While I've not tried it on mpeg files, it's blurb does certainly suggest it reads many files and I've had some considerable success using its presets, including that to iPad. And if it doesn't work or the quality isn't up to scratch for you, you've not spent money or time, having to fiddle with settings. And, if it does work, you might wish to try the 'Pro' version, which allows you to place many files in it at once for conversion and choose the destination location.

If you're using a Windows computer, you might want to take a look at Freemake Converter - again, I've had pretty good success with this - and again, free with minimal fiddling. This will also allow multiple files to be loaded in at once - but again, I've not tried mpeg in it.

Xara

Oct 7, 2012
Visit site
Thanks for the info Bazza. I'm a PC user at present but will be getting my hands on Mac Book next year hopefully lol

Bazza1

Mar 13, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for the info Bazza. I'm a PC user at present but will be getting my hands on Mac Book next year hopefully lol