Welcome to the iMore Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By 3cit
  • 1 Post By ThePinkChameleon
  1. Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  
    iMore Nanite

Unhappy Help! I lost all of my notes!

Help! I lost all of my notes from my ipad2. How did this happen? Did everything go bye bye when I deleted my gmail account...then added it back again? I tried this because I can't get mail..I just keep getting a message that says: " Cannot get mail. IMap.gmail is not responding, verify that you have the correct account info in mail settings". But... I didn't change a thing...so the settings should have been right. But then I tried deleting the account and adding it again. I had no idea it might be connected to my notes. How can I get my notes back?
    Last edited by Jorji; 08-12-2012 at 01:04 AM. Reason: Just incase I didn't post this correctly...I'm a newbie to forums.
    iMore Elite

iOS Version

It all depends on how you had your notes synced... Have you been able to add your gmail account back yet.
    Jorji likes this.
    iMore Genius

Global Posts
    10,461 Global Posts
    iOS Version

Gmail has been having a problem, there was an article posted on the front of imores page:
    Google says they're investigating "mail service imap.gmail.com is not responding" errors, no word on all the other errors... | iMore.com

Once you add back your gmail acct your notes should show back up. When & if they do, you should copy/paste each note into one email to your self and keep a copy of it, and add to it everytime you update your notes in your phone. Also check in your email settings for the gmail account, if notes is switched to ON then depending in what you prefer, you could turn it off and re add all of your notes again. When you do an iTunes back up via USB they'll be saved in your back up.

Unless you prefer having them synced with your gmail acct then leave everything as is.