Power button on/off

chrisamico2

Jun 2, 2012
Visit site
I was just given a WiFi iPad 2 and had it fixed up after being dropped and broken. Everything has been replaced and fixed except for the power button that had the internal ribbon torn. So basically I cannot power off/power on my iPad or put it to sleep mode without letting it screen time out. My question is, is there any app out there I can use to power it off without jailbreaking? So far the only thing I have come up with is to plug it into the computer and use a program to enter and exit recovery mode. Are there any other options available to power on/off the iPad without the power button? It seems stupid, but I am new to this and curious.

Eileen89

Apr 27, 2011
Visit site
I think Jailbreak is your only option here unless you take it into Apple.

Sent from my 4G iPad using Tapatalk HD.

Massie

Feb 9, 2010
Visit site
Maybe this is an obvious question, but if you had it repaired, why didn't you have the power button/ribbon replaced at the same time??

Peligro911

Jun 1, 2011
Visit site
Use a smart cover the magnet will but it too sleep and when it does die just plug to power it will turn on

Sent Into Orbit from my iPhone 4S using Tapatalk

chrisamico2

Jun 2, 2012
Visit site
Maybe this is an obvious question, but if you had it repaired, why didn't you have the power button/ribbon replaced at the same time??

Me and a friend did the repairs. Apple wanted $299 for the replacement. We did it all for less than $75. We did not know the ribbon was broken until after the fact and we did not have the knowledge to repair it.

TurboTiger

Nov 27, 2003
Visit site
You can enable the AssistiveTouch feature.
It places a faint dot on you screen that can be moved around. In essence it a virtual home button. When you click it, one of the icons that appears is "Device" and if you click it you can Lock Your Device.

Settings>General>Accessibility

I used it all the time because I rather press it than the home button.