iOS app certification + MFi information

MoSin

Nov 28, 2011
Visit site
Hi,

I'm new to the iOS developper world and I need some information about a couple of subjects. I have a possibility to develop an application + hardware for a client. He wants hardware that fetches data from sensors and an application that communicate with the hardware over Bluetooth to gather the data read from sensors. For the process of developping all this I have several questions...

#1 : Do I need to be part of the MFi program to develop that kind of application/hardware combination? The end product is to be sold to a small group of person by my client which all have iPads. IIf the Appstore can be bypassed it would be a plus.
#2 : Where can I find information about the certification/validation process for an app? Do they look at the look'N'feel of the app, the code itself, tests it? I didn't find much information about that...
#3 : Like I said above, is the app store always required? I saw that with an Enterprise account, you can do inHouse distribution... Does that mean that on your website you could sell to potential clients this app + hardware?

On the apple website, I can find lots of information but when it's regarding these things, it looks like I need to be a developper or a MFi partner because everything is under NDA...

If anybody could help me out with anything of the above, it would be really apreciated.

Thanks a lot

Timhewitt

Sep 17, 2011
Visit site
Though you don't have to be part of the hardware program to create hardware, it helps. You will save a great deal of time. The Bluetooth interface will work for keyboard interfaces and music, not raw data transfer, so be prepared for some limitations there. Things like barcode scanners emulate keyboards in order to function.