Camera Roll, My Photo Stream and iCloud Photo Library.

truenorthstrong

Oct 17, 2014
Visit site
I'm new to the iOS world, can someone explain what are the differences between Camera Roll, My Photo Stream and iCloud Photo Library.

Does camera roll mean these are the photos stored on your phone, my photo stream is the photos that are synced to your Mac's iphoto for example.
iCloud Photo Library, extra storage in a cloud?

One problem I am also having is that my videos don't show up on my Mac in iPhoto, the pictures do automatically when I open iPhoto on my Mac but I don't see the videos unless I connect the iPhone through the cable.

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
In summary: Camera roll consists of the photos stored on your device. Photostream is now iCloud Photo Library. With the previous photostream, you were limited to 1000 photos to sync and the photos would be removed from iCloud after 30 days. With the iCloud Photo Drive, the photos & videos are there for as long as you have available iCloud storage space.

cardfan

Oct 26, 2004
Visit site
There's two separate services here that I think is confusing people.

Photo Stream. This folder was changed to "Recently Added." But anyways, this is where the last 1000 pics or in the last 30 days go. This does NOT count against your icloud storage. But after 30 days, you won't see them on iOS devices anymore unless you saved them. On a PC or Mac, these get downloaded to your respective folders.

Shared Photo Stream. These don't expire. If you want to "save" pics and videos, simply create a shared photo stream. These are NOT counted against your icloud storage. You can also view these from other devices and apple tv.