Welcome to the iMore Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  
    iMore Newbie

Global Posts
    44 Global Posts

Default Disabling Find My Phone with broken screen on iOS 7

Good evening! So I put the latest beta on my trusty iphone 5 last night and toyed with it for a few minutes and then went to be; content. I woke up this morning to my alarm going off, as per usual, but I couldn't turn it off. I couldn't turn it off because the screen wouldn't come on. So, I did some troubleshooting and it's a hardware issue, apparently coincidental. I spent several hours today troubleshooting it and I'm a fairly tech savvy guy, so I'm completely confident it's a hardware issue(read on and you can Verizon concurs). Any how, Verizon is sending me a new iphone tomorrow, but I want to know what steps I need to take to clear the iphone which has no working screen? I'm posting this here because in my troubleshooting I noticed that I couldn't restore the phone with turning 'Find my iphone' off on the phone. Well, if the screen worked, no biggie, but it doesn't. What steps do I need to take here? I assume I can disable this some how independently of the busted iphone? Any insight would be appreciated! Thanks for reading!

Global Posts
    19,260 Global Posts
    iOS Version

Default re: Disabling Find My Phone with broken screen on iOS 7

Connect it to iTunes and see if it will recognize it. If so, follow the step via the following link to put your phone in DFU mode to downgrade back to iOS 6.1.4.

http://www.imore.com/how-downgrade-i...eta-back-ios-6
  3. Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  
    iMore Newbie

Global Posts
    44 Global Posts

thanks for your advice! i'm trying it now but the phone only went into recovery mode. i suspect this won't work but we'll see. if it doesn't, and i can't get into dfu mode (the timing is easier with a functioning screen), any other suggestions?

Global Posts