Welcome to the iMore Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree6Likes
  • 2 Post By taz323
  • 2 Post By Massie
  • 1 Post By lukeforester1
  • 1 Post By Massie
  1. Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  
    iMore Genius

Global Posts
    6,880 Global Posts
    iOS Version
    iOS 6

Default iOS 7 icon design

Rene put up a really great read yesterday iOS 7 and a second coat of paint | iMore.com and in it was a link to Neven Mrgn's tumblr “Wrong” - Neven Mrgan's tumbl talking about the icon design. What I found interesting was that while Neven says that Ive's icon grid is wrong from a designer's standpoint. The large majority of customers of iOS devices are not designers. I'm not a designer and looking at the icons in the post I actually prefer the one created using the grid. When I look at the two side by side I just like that one better the overall look of it. So I think that it is an opinion, some will love it and some will hate it.

iOS 7 icon design-tumblr_inline_molza0kvzd1qz4rgp.png
    can't upgrade via iTunes check this thread http://forum.tipb.com/jailbreak-unlo...ml#post1717460
    ~32GB Space Grey iPhone 5s(Audi)~32GB Space Grey rMini ~ 15" i7 SSD 16GB rMBP(Omega) on Mavericks~
    iPheuria aka The Jailbr3ak kid (soon to be retired)

Default Re: iOS 7 icon design

I think they both look good, but the one made with grid seems to stand out more. I really do like how fresh they look.
    Ipheuria and iSeans like this.
    iMore Genius

Global Posts
    5,023 Global Posts
    iOS Version

I agree with the designers—to my eyes there isn't enough "breathing room" between the circle and the icon edge in the new design. And it's not just a question of using a grid system; as seen here a different grid gives a much more familiar (and to my eyes more balanced) result:

iOS 7 icon design-image.jpg
    TurboTiger and redbeard like this.
    iMore Elite

Global Posts
    6,509 Global Posts
    iOS Version