Cannot send email from device because "(insert Account Name) does not allow relaying"

BrockS.

Nov 6, 2011
Visit site
Hi, I'm new to Apple after having Blackberries for the last few years. Like it so far but have a problem that can very well be a deal breaker. My business email account will not send emails from the phone. I get a message stating that the email could not be sent because the recipient's "server does not allow relaying". However, should I send an email to the same address through my personal account, no problems. I did not have this issue with BB, so I'm wondering if I need to change some settings somewhere. I do not have any problems receiving messages. The only difference between the two in that regard is my business account has to "fetch" while Yahoo will push. My business account is through Compuserve (AOL) and personal is with Yahoo. Any help given would be greatly appreciated.

Hope I posted in the right place. Thanks in advance.

Edit: I did search but didn't come across anything. Also, I'm running iOS5 on a Sprint iPhone 4

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site
Make sure you have the correct smtp settings for your work account. You'll get that error message if you are replying from one email address, but using the smtp belonging to a different account.

Reactions: BrockS.

BrockS.

Nov 6, 2011
Visit site
I've checked the settings, which were wrong, however, I'm still getting the same message: "The recipient [insert contact] was rejected by the server because it does not allow relaying" Any other suggestions?

lv1

Jan 14, 2011
Visit site
I've checked the settings, which were wrong, however, I'm still getting the same message: "The recipient [insert contact] was rejected by the server because it does not allow relaying" Any other suggestions?