iOS 5 Beta?: Take my advice... DON'T!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nashstruck

Jun 11, 2011
Visit site
Hello All! First post in this forum.. Owned an iPad2 since 2 months ago and loving it!

I've been scouring the internet for advice about what to do but haven't found any so here's my lil tip.

I'm not a developer. but I attempted to install the iOS5 beta on my iPad 2 wifi and boy was it a hellish experience!!! After installing the software as instructed, I was greeted with a screen on the iPad 2 and iTunes that mentioned that I hadn't activated my iPad 2. I had seen on so MANY websites about some lil tricks.. like pressing home button three times, etc to bypass it but NONE of it WORKED!!!

I panicked and began the hunt for a solution and low and behold, I wasn't allowed to restore it cos iTunes completely blocked any access to the ipad without activation under the developer program. I was't a developer. And I was contemplating paying the $99 subscription to get use of my iPad again! I had read that various people tried approaching apple staff who refused to advice at all because installing the iOS5 beta when you're not a developer isn't what we're meant to do... and well it's frankly quite stupid.

Anyways, I found a solution which was to go to a website that registers your UDID for you. I had to pay them $7, which is a small price to pay, and they had registered it for me within minutes under their developer account. Yes, just minutes. I won't say which site it was because I don't want this to seem like some sorta advert for them, but you can google them and there are a few. You also need to make sure that you have your UDID noted down, or if you're in my position, you use a software called iPhone enterprise something on apple.com to get it.